Baby Steps

Today I removed my first bolt from the scooter! It feels like a big step, but before I get too excited, let me back up.

So far the biggest hurdle to overcome with this project is where to begin. For starters, I’ve named the scooter “Betty”. I’m not one for naming my vehicles, but she seemed like she needed a name and I prefer calling her Betty instead of referring to her as “the scooter”. We’ll see how it goes.

Secondly, I’ve been doing some researching, reading, and prepping. I ordered a manual and a restoration guide that are coming in the next few weeks, which I’m hoping will really get me started. I also read through an owners manual that I found online. Most importantly, though, I saw this video and felt inspired all over again: Full Restoration of 1964 Vespa

They start by completely gutting the thing so I figured that’s what I should do first. First I took a trip to Walmart and got some bins, gloves, cloths, soap, etc. for cleaning and organizing. Then I started pulling off whatever I could. I took off the seat, then the fuel tank, and then a plastic bin that I’m not even sure what it’s for, but it’s so old that the plastic was breaking apart as I touched it. Hurray, three things! Then I looked at it and realized, now what? I took off three very removable pieces; they’re meant to come off. I started pulling and twisting and tugging on a few things here and there, but nothing really wanted to budge and I really wasn’t even sure what to focus on. I ended up throwing in the towel when my husband invited me to meet him and friends for tacos.

So in the grand scheme of things, I really haven’t done much. But the important thing here is that I did something because I think getting started is the hardest part. I’ve done some prep work, I have some books coming in the mail, and most importantly, I now know some of the hurdles I will have to overcome. Things like, “How in the world am I supposed to get to that bolt?” or “What am I going to rest Betty on when I take her wheels off?”. I think scratching your head is an important part of the process, and so far I’ve been doing a lot of that. So for now I will wait for my manual and guide, continue watching Youtube videos, and keep scratching my head until I get somewhere, because not being sure of where to go next is not an excuse for not moving forward.

IMG_3793

Leave a Reply

