It’s the little things

This won’t mean much to anyone else, but it means a lot to me – I got the oil to drain! And I got a part [partially] off that I need to replace! Neither are very big feats, but remember that I’m keeping the dreams small these days.

I’m going out of town this weekend (Conn reunion!) and was feeling majorly bummed to have to leave Betty on such a low note. So I went in the garage and just looked at her, and then figured I might as well try to remove the oil plug. Yesterday I couldn’t find a wrench that fit so today I grabbed a pair of pliers and whaddya know, it moves! And there’s oil in there! Just to have some tiny reminder that this could potentially be a functioning machine was such a relief. The bolt is marked “olio”. Cute.

Next I noticed that there were two screws holding on this piece where some wires go that I want to replace, so after some maneuvering to remove them (there’s a nut wedged in a small space on the back and I only have 2 hands!), I got the piece off! The wire is still attached on the other side and I’m not sure how to remove that yet, but for now I’ll bask in the small amount of glory that this gave me.

IMG_6152

Lastly, I thought maybe I’d be able to get that cylinder cover off too. I  was on a roll and thought, maybe this is my day. But the Vespa gods reminded me that greed is a sin and that I would not be getting that cover off today. You win this time, Vespa gods. I was able to twist it around a lot and get a feel for how it’s in there. Here’s an image from the top of how much it will twist, even though it won’t come out:

IMG_6156

So overall not the most exciting things to get done, but to me they felt like great victories. Obviously a Vespa veteran would have gotten this done months ago, but I’m not a veteran and that’s okay. For starters, today was a reminder never to give up, but it’s okay to step away and come back. Also, I’ve never drained the oil out of a vehicle before, so that was actually a little exciting. Now I guess I have to go dispose of that properly…

Thanks for all the encouragement and sticking with me, folks. Will be back next week after I relive my college days at my reunion this weekend.

Leave a Reply

